The Wrong Words

The Wrong Words

San francisco, California
Josh Miller Guitar/Vocals
Ajax Green Bass
Layla Cooper Drums

“Sounding like the best moments of The Quick and maybe even a little Shoes thrown in...a vintage blast of power pop soul that's sunny with just the right dose of syrup on top.”

— Raven Sings the Blues

“You'll hear some of the touchstones (The Turtles, The Troggs) that citymates like Thee Oh Sees incorporate into their attack, but there's a crystalline melodic intuition that runs through the core...”

— Impose Magazine

Everything Is Free LP/CD

San Francisco’s Wrong Words are back, but they might be lil’ bit different than you remember them; sure the pop hooks and melodies still ring loud and true, the choruses are still earworms that work their way into your brain and refuse to let go, but something’s different. With their second album “Everything Is Free”, the band moves into a comfortable spot nestled between more mature songwriting and adventurous arrangements.

This time out, The Wrong Words have enlisted a string section, horns, & woodwinds to carefully guide them through the pop landscape. Songwriter Josh Miller still burns with the fiery restlessness that peppered his tunes on their 2011 s/t debut, but rather than bash & crash their way thru a 2 & a half minute pop ditty, they ease their way from verse to chorus without sacrificing any of their token pop smarts. For most pop bands, “maturing” comes at a cost; sacrificing hooks, watering down the sound, or altering their look - The Wrong Words have dodged that bullet by acknowledging these new elements as pre-existing in the nature of song, ready to be plucked from the tree from which they sprung at no cost whatsoever. Everything Is Free, man.

RIYL: The Feelies, Teenage Fanclub, The Last, King Tuff, Nick Lowe

1. Pretending Your Life
2. ...And It’s Not So Pretty
3. I Don’t Have A Heart
4. Say Something
5. Where Am I Now?
6. What The Word Means
7. The Sting
8. Your Secrets
9. The Other End Of The Line
10. It’s Only Human
11. It Will Never Be Kind
12. Second Life
13. What’s Done Is Done
No Flash
I Don't Have A Heart
LP $12 CD $8
I Will Change Your Mind 7-inch

One of our absolute favorite bands is back with a killer new single! This two-songer is the perfect follow-up to their TiM debut LP from last March. All the elements are here that made their full-length so great; the guitar work, thumping bass and drums, great lyrics, and the same one-two, eff-you pop-punch. "I Will Change Your Mind" has singer/guitarist Josh Miller hitting some new highs not only in guitar riff-ery but hitting those vocal high notes like he is some kind of power-pop Rob Halford - it’s a real roller coaster of a tune, that takes the listener on a journey through the melodic vocabulary of folks like Roy Wood, Nick Lowe & Paul Collins without losing their own personal voice. The flip, "How To Keep A Straight Face" kicks open the door & stomps in with a killer riff & some down and dirty wah-wah action, before smartly swaying into a great laid back northern California-cool melodic feel not-unlike Boz Scaggs jamming with the Barracudas. A terrific teaser for what’s on the horizon from this trio!

1. I Will Change Your Mind
2. How To Keep A Straight Face
No Flash
I Will Change Your Mind
Self-titled LP/CD

For those of us who take our record collection maybe a little too seriously, it’s a comfort when a band just seems to get it. While there isn’t much left to be said about the current music scene in San Francisco (where The Wrong Words hail from) we like to think they have combined all of its best elements (power pop, punk and a dab of flower-psych) on this amazingly solid debut LP. Recorded by Greg Ashley of The Gris Gris and mastered by Mikey Young of Eddy Current Suppression Ring, The Wrong Words have been referred to as a “West Coast Gentleman Jesse”. While there is no denying the Californian influence, there is a midwestern blue collar pop feel as well a’la The Scruffs or more than a few tracks off of the Yellow Pills comp. This album has pop hooks galore, great lyrics and ripping guitar work.The Wrong Words take tried and true themes such as hating your day job and letting your girl down but put their own ‘catchy as hell’ spin on them. Stick it on the turntable, but be warned, it’s going to be there for a while.

RIYL: Gentleman Jesse, Jaill, XTC, Nick Lowe, Barracudas

1. Tonight, Tomorrow
2. Just The Right Place
3. Everything Is Different Now
4. Say Goodbye
5. Lie Detector
6. Wrong Again
7. Summer's Gone
8. Pay The Price
9. You Think You Lost It All
10. A Cold Wind
11. Cross The Line
12. I Admit Defeat
No Flash
Summer's Gone
LP is temporarily out of stock.
CD $8
What Went Wrong? / Tickin'
We here at Trouble In Mind H.Q. are super excited to be able to release the debut of San Francisco's Wrong Words. Simultaneously introspective & triumphant, their electrifying brand of pop music reminds us at once of the ragged jangle of the Scruffs, but with the charged, emotive vocals of a young Andy Partridge - great guitar work, clever lyrics, & hooks, hooks, hooks galore! Heck - we love this band so much, be on the lookout for their debut LP on Trouble In Mind coming in spring 2011. The single comes housed in the Trouble In Mind factory sleeve, includes a download code, & the first press comes on randomly mixed colored vinyl.
No Flash
What Went Wrong?
This title is no longer available.